Guards Club Park and Island

Overview

Access from Oldfield Road

Size: 11,115 sq m/ 1.1 hectares.
A walk around the perimeter of this park will contribute 700 steps to the advised 10,000 daily steps recommended to improve fitness.

BBQ's are not permitted in any of the parks and open spaces.

Location and access details

Access from Oldfield Road

Map
Facilities
History

The Guards Club provided recreation for officers from the depots at Windsor and Pirbright. Plaques record its replacement by the park for the Silver Jubilee of 1977. The gates which lead into Guards Club Road came from Maidenhead's first public library opened in 1904.

Guards Club Park and Island is an open space and conservation area with unique views of Brunel's Sounding Arch and Maidenhead Bridge.

The Island, accessed via a footbridge from the park, is closed each year between December and June, however the Park remains open all year round.